Overdose: November 2007

Okay people, here in the grammar slammer, we’re starting a monthly entry called Overdose (see what NaBloPoMo will do to you?) It will feature things I’m OD’ing on RIGHT NOW.  So original, yes?  There has been one previous edition of Overdose.  Only in that case (and perhaps this one as well) it would have been more appropriately titled “I have nothing exciting to report here.”

Enjoy.

The Weepies.  Their music will truly make you weepie.  With happiness.  Because it’s so, so simple and beautiful and uplifting and heartbreaking all at once.  Which is very impressive for one album to do, if you ask me.  Also, yes I do know how to spell weepy.  Y u gotta reign on mai parayde?

Duncan.  His photos are simple and beautiful and uplifting and sometimes heartbreaking, too.  I love this kid – he’s so fantastic and I’m glad we’re friends.  I can only hope the pictures I take in Tanzania will be half as good as the art he can make out of a photo of a Starbucks cup.  Seriously.  Also, I hope they have Starbucks in Tanzania.  That would be sweet.

Just kidding.

The Dish Bistro in Denver.  LP took me here for my birthday, because she is such a great LP.  The waiters are flustery in just the right way, they play Beatles music, which is an unexpected (yet not at all unwelcome) addition to the moody lighting, and the Argentinian red wine, in addition to the incredible cheese platter, will illicit wildly romantic and ridiculous talk of trips to Paris for your quarter life crisis birthday.  Unless you’ve already passed that, in which case you are free to go to Paris any time you choose.

Leave a comment

Filed under Obsessions

Leave a Reply

