Confession Session, Part Three: Passion and Spice are Very Nice

I have become rather addicted to C Jane.  Like a lot of people, I would imagine.  She is completely honest, and even if you don’t agree with her 100 percent of the time, there is great courage in total honesty, and I respect that.

I also respect people who can admit when things have gone astray.  I have recently been through my own bout of astray, and this post is making me do some serious thinking about my life, my passions, and my spice.

I am passionate about people.  I love people.  I love talking to them, listening to them, hearing about what’s going on in their lives.  This is what drew me to journalism in the first place – the fact that my job requirements gave me carte blanche to ask questions and be nosy was, like, the greatest thing ever.

But what’s even greater than the greatest thing ever is writing about people and making up crap if you feel like it.  They frown upon that in the land of truth, and because I think what I make up is, like, ten times more interesting than plain ol’ boring truth, I said ta-ta to journalism and took a fancy job making lots of money so that I could have a cushion and one day be a writer in the manner of my choosing.

But let’s get back to the root of this tangent: I love me some people.  I am an introvert in that I draw energy from alone time and I need a lot of it, but if I didn’t have people around to talk to and play with, I’d die.

I love bringing people together – generally over food because I also love feeding people – and I love when I can bring together lots of fabulous people who’ve never met before.  And I especially love when my fabulous friends become friends with each other.  That is the best.

I love telling stories – 100 percent true stories, exaggerated stories, and most importantly of all – stories you make up and pull out of your butt when you have an eager audience.  In written form this is known as “novel writing.”  Let’s try it.

I am passionate about the visual.  And I mean a lot of things when I say visuals.  I make up crap in my head (see above, and above, and above) and I always think it would be cool to see my made up crap trotted out upon a screen for all to see.  In real life this is called “making a movie” and I like doing that, too.

But I am also passionate about the way things look.  Whether it’s my home, a design project at work, or even my chosen ensemble of the day, I think things should generally look as awesome as possible.  And I am frustrated by people who don’t care about aesthetics, because I don’t care what the doctor says, good design is more than just good business – good design is good for your soul.

I love to write.  A lot.  I think I could write all the live long day.  And I have.

I love to travel.  LOVE IT.  I will go anywhere once, and if I love it enough I will long to go back all the days of my life (Slovenia, I’m talking to YOU!)

But right now my life doesn’t involve very many of those passions.  I miss living in community.  I miss having a place of my own to sink into at the end of the day.  I miss throwing bomb dinner parties on a Wednesday night just because.  I miss having an audience.

And those passions, those loves, are the things that make me spicy.  And somehow, I need to get them back.

 

Any ideas?  What makes you spicy?

Leave a comment

Filed under My World, Thinking

Leave a Reply

