Sitting, waiting, wanting

Oh you guys.

I’m going to cut right to the chase:  I have a case of the wants.  BIG TIME.

But before we launch into a list of all the things I want, I alaso want to preemptively state a few things:

Number 1: I know, I KNOW that having a large amount of material wants is a) shallow-seeming and b) a first world feeling.  I highly doubt that people in Africa ever get grabby feeling and dream about food processors.  I am aware.  And if you are my lovely friends Jo and Ashley, who are currently living in Africa for the Peace Corps, please put on the muffs and disregard this post. 

Or just remember, before you judge, that I will make you things from my food processor when you come home. 

Number 2: I know that IN THIS ECONOMY (a phrase that has quickly become my most hated phrase, second only to “to be perfectly honest” [um, are you not always honest?  Are you usually a perfect liar?)] it’s not exactly kosher to go naming off things you want, as though it were Christmas and I were seven years old.  HOWEVER, I do still have my job and I have been financially responsible, and I almost feel like it’s my duty to not freak out and make the economy even worse, even though bitching about the economy seems to be the new cool thing.  Instead of knitting, we bitch about the economy.  iSuwannee has a rant that cracked me up, so check it out.  The economy sucks, but what can you do?  Get over it.

And finally, number 3: This is not, in any way, a plea for people to buy me things.  It’s just me, naming my wants, and then (hopefully) feeling enough satisfaction from this excercise that I don’t need to go out and buy everything.  I’ll let you know if it works.

So now, without further ado, I bring you my list of wants o’the day:

– A trench coat.  What else do you wear when the weather is freaking weird like like it has been the last few days?  You wear this:  trench

And you look great in it.  Go you!

– A beach cruiser bike, a la this one we discussed a few weeks ago.  Visions of baskets dance in my head.  And at $159, this bike is a steal.  Especially when you think that, because it’s so cute, you’re going to bike more and drive way, way less.  At least, I will.

– A corgi/sheltie mix of a dog who looks just like this:

bedroom

I would name her Rallie Mae and we’d have all sorts of adventures.  Mostly, they would be adventures in which I would wear a trench coat and ride my bike, and she would trot along beside me.

 

Fuck the economy.  What do you want?

 

*Trench coat from Banana Republic; dreamy bedroom via SFgirlbybay; fabulous dog’s provenance unknown but I sure do want her to come live with me.

2 Comments

Filed under My World, Obsessions

2 responses to “Sitting, waiting, wanting

  1. Jess

    I want the Pearl Pink bike. Target has some bikes like these! Did you know that?!

  2. oneyearbook

    That is a nice coat. I did give in to my coat-purchasing impulses a few month back and got a grey fancy-dress coat but I find that I almost never wear it, even when I’m dressed up, because I’m so used to keeping everything I need to carry in the pockets of my big ol’ black pea coat.

Leave a Reply

